I always wanted to…

I feel that Childhood is a golden period in everyone’s life where we can enjoy truly..There won’t be any pressure and a child doesn’t think twice before talking..I am sure a happy childhood will always help us to tackle all the problems that we might face in future..I had some nostalgic moments when I thought of my wishes during earlier days of my life..

Whenever someone asked me, what will I do when I am grown up, my answer always was “I want to be a Journalist” …Their next question was whether I knew the meaning of Journalist..I always replied that I will write in newspapers and everybody will read it..As I was very young that time, they simply laughed as if it was a joke…

From my childhood, I  liked to read many  books and magazines..I was also good at studies and I liked Biology very much..So after my tenth standard, I chose science group and not commerce..

During my twelfth standard, I told my father that I don’t want to study engineering or medicine..He was shocked and he asked me the reason..I told him that I wish to study B.A in English literature and then Journalism..He was not happy with my choice and even after many arguments, he didn’t accept for the same..I couldn’t convince him…So  I joined B.SC  Bio Chemistry and then completed MBA also..

I then got placed in a Bank and worked for around 11 years in banking sector..My passion for reading didn’t reduce and I was always reading books whenever I travel to and fro to work..Though I enjoyed and loved my job to the core, I always felt that I was missing something..

I took a break in my career and  now i am able to read many books in my free time..I started to blog and so I have my little own space where I can write and express my views..

I still regret that I was not able to convince my Dad earlier  for studying journalism..I have not become a Journalist as I wished..But I am still feeling blessed as I have taken a very little step in writing through this blog..I have finally listened to the voice inside my heart and I am happy for it!!!

I  am quoting the lines which I love, from Robert Frost’s Poem “Stopping by woods on a snowy Evening”:

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,   
But I have promises to keep,   
And miles to go before I sleep,   
And miles to go before I sleep.
Leave a Reply

