Well said Ms.Sania Mirza!!!

Journalist Mr.Rajdeep Sardesai recently interviewed Ms.Sania Mirza ..He questioned regarding her plans on settling down and motherhood..

I was so happy on the way she replied him which is given below:

“You sound disappointed that I’m not choosing motherhood over being number one in the world at this point of time. But I’ll answer your question anyway, that’s the question I face all the time as a woman, that all women have to face — the first is marriage and then it’s motherhood. Unfortunately, that’s when we’re settled, and no matter how many Wimbledons we win or number ones in the world we become, we don’t become settled. But eventually it will happen, not right now. And when it does happen I’ll be the first one to tell everybody when I plan to do that.”

Mr.Rajdeep apologized immediately  for asking that question and admitted that he would never ask this question to a male athlete…

This really made me think..Yes, what Ms.Sania Mirza said is hundred percent true!!!

This is the way that this society treats women..It is very sad to note that many men , irrespective of their education, still consider women below them and not at par…

Many women face questions first about their marriage and then about kids..

I am not against marriage or motherhood…But I strongly feel it is up to that particular girl to decide when to marry and when to become a mother..

She definitely has all rights to decide what she wants in her life..Others can’t and shouldn’t interfere in her life..

Meaning of settling down differs among individuals and need not be the same..

Why profession is still perceived to be important only for men and not to women?

Why these questions are not asked to men??

Why a girl alone should do certain compromises so that her family comes first and her profession only next???

Why as a society we pretend that nowadays women have more freedom when compared to earlier days??? I feel that my freedom should always be with me and not with you..Every time I can’t struggle to get it from you.. I am sure at the end of battle for  freedom, women  lose many and win only few…

Gender disparity begins from childhood..Even though many mothers try to raise both daughter and son equally, this society doesn’t allow them to succeed finally..

During my last day at my office, my boss appreciated my working style and said that even though I was a woman, I worked extraordinary well ..I was irritated to the core and questioned him why he said like that..He answered that many women don’t take their profession seriously like me..I told him not to perceive things and there are many women who love their jobs and not to generalize things..

I feel that answering back when we are faced with personal questions is very important..Others might think that we are rude, but  this answering back  is important so that the person who questioned us will be careful and think twice before asking the same question next time…

It is not necessary that I have to be good with everybody!!! I will respect only those who respect me and my privacy..Others should know their limits before questioning me..

2 thoughts on “Well said Ms.Sania Mirza!!!

Leave a Reply

