My Cooking Stories…

To be frank, I have not even prepared a cup of coffee/tea for myself/others before my marriage..

I know I am a somberi**** (Lazy) …I have to admit the truth..

I have been in hostels while studying and when I came on leave, I had everything given to me by family without me not doing/even caring to do anything..

Then after my studies, I joined job and pretended to be busy 24/7..hahahaha…

My amma used to pester me to learn to cook, but as usual, I didn’t listen to her..

Ok, after my engagement, amma asked me to learn cooking…I replied that I will learn from my mother in law after marraige..

I was working after marraige and in weekends I started observing cooking style of my mother in law and started cooking..To my surprise, it turned out well..Even others in family started to praise my cooking…

After learning  some basic cooking, I started to experiment with new recipes in kitchen..Started browsing for various recipes online and first prepared them in less quantity for others to taste..If they all liked, then prepared the same in a elaborate manner..

Like many, I also had many kitchen disasters…Once I tried to prepare aval upma*** (Poha)..I kept aval immersed in water and found that as aval quality was very thin, totally all aval became like koozh*** (porridge) and it was so watery that we have to drink…hahahaha…

Inspite of all disasters, I continued to cook ..I plan before starting to cook & usually multitask…I don’t like to  spend more time in Kitchen..I like to cook different varieties, but within a time frame…

Me & my husband are totally different in our food likes & tastes..He likes rice, sambar, etc while I dislike the same..I love to have tiffin, chats, north indian varieties which he doesn’t like..

I prepare breakfasts which we both like, lunch what he likes, and dinner what I like many times..So there is a balance and we eat what we both like with some adjustments..I feel that good presentation of food is also vital…

My amma  still couldn’t believe that I cook pretty well…

Many times I think of posting some of my recipes here…But due to my laziness, I don’t take photographs of what I cook…..

I feel writing recipes requires a lot of patience…

I really wonder how Ms.Padhu of Padhuskitchen (http://www.padhuskitchen.com/) posts many superb recipes in her site..Generally I check her site regularly before trying any new recipes that I don’t know..Her recipes are so good that the end results are always the best…

Before my marraige if somebody had said that I would enjoy cooking, I would have laughed!!!!! But now after marraige, I really enjoy cooking…

Happy Cooking to all…

6 thoughts on “My Cooking Stories…

  1. Pingback: My Stress buster!!! | Sadhuvi

Leave a Reply

